Australia India Cricket Match

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India Australia Cricket News December 2006

Justin Langer to retire after Ashes series

The exodus of Australian cricket veterans continued Monday, with opening batsman Justin Langer confirming he will join bowlers Shane Warne and Glenn McGrath in test retirement after the last Ashes match against England.
Langer, 36, said the fifth test starting Tuesday in Sydney would be his last. "There hasn't been a waking moment for the last 20 years where I haven't thought about playing test cricket and wearing the baggy green cap, so this is a tough moment," he said. "There hasn't been a moment where test cricket hasn't been on my mind." Langer has scored 7,650 runs at an average of 45.27, including 23 centuries, in 104 test matches. He has shared 14-century partnerships with opening partner Matthew Hayden. He is the fourth long-standing member of the Australian side to announce his retirement this summer, joining all-time leading wicket taker Warne, all-time leading paceman McGrath and fellow West Australian batsman Damien Martyn.
Langer made his test debut against the West Indies in Adelaide in 1993, but did not hold a permanent place in the starting XI until 2001-02. He and Hayden first opened together in the final test of the 2001 Ashes series and have been a fixture at the top of the Australian order ever since. Australia leads the test and limited-overs world rankings, is a two-time defending World Cup champion and won all 10 test matches it played in 2006.

Shane Warne creates history with 700 wickets

Australian leg-spin bowler Shane Warne accomplished two tasks with one ball at the Ashes Series test match today: he dismissed England's opening batsman Andrew Strauss at 50 runs and simultaneously created cricketing history with this his 700th test wicket.

Shane Warne, McGrath set to retire

Test cricket's most successful bowler Shane Warne and his equally illustrious compatriot Glenn McGrath are set to announce their retirement after this Ashes series, decisions which would signal a change of guard in the Australian side.
Warne, who is one wicket away from becoming the first bowler ever to claim 700 scalps but has not been very successful against India, is to announce his retirement tomorrow while McGrath is expected to make a similar announcement after the fifth and final Test in Sydney Their decision is bound to have an impact on world cricket given their stature and record as the most successful spinner and seamer. The 37-year-old Warne in fact heads the all-time highest wicket-takers' list with 699 scalps while McGrath, 36, is third with 555. While the leg-spinner had hinted at Perth, venue of the third Ashes Test, that he may quit the game, the decision of McGrath has come as a surprise since he was expected to play in the World Cup in March-April next year.

India vs Australia Past Cricket Series

India vs Australia Test Cricket Series 2013 in India

India vs Australia ODI Cricket Series 2009 in India

India vs Australia Cricket Series 2007-08 in Australia

India vs Australia ODI Cricket Series 2007 in India

Tri Series 2006 in Kuala Lumpur

India in Australia Test series 2004 in Australia

ICC Super Series 2005 Cricket Matches

Australian Cricket History

India Cricket Live

Australia - World beaters!

The Australian cricket team is one of the leading international teams in world cricket. Australia was one of the first two Test nations (with England) and have an outstanding recent Test record and in the one dayers were World Champs in 1987, 1999 and 2003. They are also the leaders in the current ICC Test Nations table. Dates in history of Australian cricket
November, 1868: 1868 Aboriginal cricket tour of England
15 March 1877: Test debut
28 December 1934: Women's Test team debut
5 January 1971: ODI Debut
23 June 1973: Women's ODI team debut
8 November 1987: Won 4th edition of Cricket World Cup by defeating England in the final match at Eden Gardens, Calcutta.
20 June 1999: Steve Waugh lifts the World Cup
23 March 2003: Ricky Ponting lifts the World Cup

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.