India vs Australia 2007 Cricket Series Mumbai ODI

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India vs Australia 2007 Cricket Series Mumbai ODI

IND vs AUS, 7th ODI: India clinch a thrilling victory

Murali Kartik bagged six wickets before sharing a crucial unbeaten partnership with Zaheer Khan as India won the seventh and final one-day international against Australia after a nail-biting finish in Mumbai.
Set an eminently gettable 194 to win, India appeared to be dead and buried at 64 for six, before Robin Uthappa and Harbhajan Singh came together to share a stand of 65. When Uthappa fell to Michael Clarke, India's last chance appeared to have gone, but Zaheer (31 not out) and Kartik (21no) produced an unbroken ninth-wicket stand of 52 to see the hosts home by two wickets.
Earlier, Kartik claimed his maiden five-wicket haul and only Ricky Ponting could pass 50 as Australia were bowled out for 193 in 41.3 overs. Ponting constructed 57 from 78 balls as Brad Hodge (16) and Andrew Symonds (nought) became Kartik's first two victims. Harbhajan accounted for the Aussie skipper before Kartik (six for 27) ran through the lower-middle order, dismissing Brad Haddin (19) and James Hopes (22). The result was not enough to salvage anything from the series, which Australia claimed 4-2 after the first match was abandoned without a result.
IND vs AUS, 7th ODI, Mumbai: India 195 for 8 (45.5 ovs) beat Australia 193 (41.3 ovs) by 2 wickets

IND vs AUS, 7th ODI: India will play for consolatory win

India will try to score a consolatory victory at the historic Brabourne Stadium, as they have already lost the series 1-4.
The series so far has been fought both on and off the playing arena and the formidable Australians, well known for their aggressive approach, will be keen to maintain their stranglehold on the hosts in the last game to be played under lights at the Wankhede Stadium. The visitors have already taken an invincible 4-1 lead and the home team can at best reduce the margin and gain some coincidence ahead of the forthcoming series against arch rivals Pakistan. The Indians, who were accorded a tumultuous welcome in this city three weeks ago on their return as Twenty20 World Champions, have to put in a far more inspired performance to stop the Aussies from increasing the victory margin.
India team (from): Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Yuvraj Singh, Sourav Ganguly, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Robin Uthappa, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Murali Kartik, R P Singh, Zaheer Khan, S Sreesanth, Rohit Sharma, Dinesh Karthik, S Badrinath.
Australia team (from): Ricky Ponting (Captain), Adam Gilchrist, Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Matthew Hayden, Brad Haddin, Ben Hilfenhaus, Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, James Hopes, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee and Andrew Symonds.

India vs Australia 2007 Cricket Series Mumbai ODI


Australia won the toss and decided to bat
193 all out (41.3 overs)
195 for 8 (45.5 overs)

Australia Innings - All out
Clarke lbw b Zaheer
1 0 0
Gilchrist c Harbhajan b Pathan
26 4 0
Ponting c Dhoni b RP Singh
78 9 0
Hodge c Karthik b Kartik
29 2 0
Symonds c Tendulkar b Kartik
1 0 0
Haddin lbw b Kartik
38 3 0
b Kartik
23 3 0
Hogg c Uthappa b Kartik
3 0 0
Lee c RP Singh b Kartik
1 0 0
Johnson not out
31 2 1
Bracken c Harbhajan b RP Singh
18 0 0
26w 4b 3lb 33
all out 193 (41.3 ovs)

Zaheer 9.0 1 22 1
RP Singh 8.3 1 59 2
Pathan 5.0 0 23 1
Ganguly 2.0 0 24 0
Harbhajan 7.0 0 31 0
Kartik 10.0 3 27 6
Fall of wicket
0 Clarke
60 Gilchrist
117 Hodge
117 Symonds
129 Ponting
162 Haddin
162 Hogg
162 Lee
177 Hopes
193 Bracken

India Innings - Close
Ganguly c Gilchrist b Johnson
7 0 0
b Lee
36 4 0
Karthik c Gilchrist b Johnson
6 0 0
Yuvraj c Gilchrist b Bracken
26 2 0
Uthappa lbw b Clarke
59 4 2
Dhoni c Gilchrist b Bracken
10 1 0
Pathan c Clarke b Hopes
5 0 0
Harbhajan c Ponting b Johnson
49 1 0
Zaheer not out
43 3 1
Kartik not out
34 3 0
20w 4b 12lb 36
for 8 195 (45.5 ovs)

Lee 10.0 1 37 1
Johnson 9.5 0 46 3
Bracken 10.0 3 30 2
Hopes 5.0 0 13 1
Hogg 8.0 0 40 0
Clarke 3.0 0 13 1
Fall of wicket
3 Ganguly
8 Karthik
38 Tendulkar
49 Yuvraj
63 Dhoni
64 Pathan
129 Uthappa
143 Harbhajan

Umpires: Aleem Dar, A M Saheba
India: Ganguly, Tendulkar, Uthappa, Yuvraj, Karthik, Dhoni, Kartik, Pathan, Harbhajan, Zaheer, RP Singh
Australia: Gilchrist, Ponting, Haddin, Hodge, Clarke, Symonds, Hogg, Bracken, Hopes, Lee, Johnson

The Venue

The Wankhede Stadium is the second largest cricket stadium in the Indian city of Mumbai. This ground was built after disputes between the Cricket Club of India which own the Brabourne Stadium, and the Mumbai Cricket Association over the allocation of tickets for cricket matches
The cricket pitch is known to offer assistance to bowlers and is largely a spinner and pace friendly track. It offers spin and bounce to spin bowlers and swing to fast bowlers during the early part of each day due to the ground being close to sea.On days four and five of a test the pitch does tend to break up a fair bit which in turn offers great assistance to spinners. In 1995 the stadium was upgraded and lights were added to host day and night games. Later, in 1996 it hosted an India-Australia match in the 1996 Cricket World Cup.

India vs Australia Past Cricket Series

India vs Australia Test Cricket Series 2013 in India

India vs Australia ODI Cricket Series 2009 in India

India vs Australia Cricket Series 2007-08 in Australia

India vs Australia ODI Cricket Series 2007 in India

Tri Series 2006 in Kuala Lumpur

India in Australia Test series 2004 in Australia

ICC Super Series 2005 Cricket Matches

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.